Home lott trophy Ben Bywater of BYU has been named the Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week

Ben Bywater of BYU has been named the Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week

by lit-admin

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Ben Bywater of BYU has been named the Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week for the second week of the 2022 college football season.

The sophomore linebacker made a significant impact in BYUs double-overtime win over Baylor. Bywater had his fourth career game with ten or more tackles, 11, including a sack in the 26-20 victory.

The Salt Lake City native led the Cougars in tackles a season ago with 102, to go with 8.5 tackles for a loss, also a team high. Additionally, Bywater is a Finance major and has received All-Academic honors. Bywater is also an Eagle scout and served a full-time mission in Guatemala.

The Lott IMPACT® Trophy is awarded annually to individuals who demonstrate excellence in the field of athletics and recognizes college football’s Defensive Player of the Year who best exemplifies the IMPACT acronym: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The mission of The Pacific Club IMPACT® Foundation is to recognize and support both national and local charities that serve the youth of America with a focus on education and have a positive IMPACT® on the lives of young men and women.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week in Week 2:

Recovered a fumble and broke up a pass in 10-7 win over Iowa

7 tackles, all solo, 2 for a loss and 3 pass deflections in 31-23 win over Northwestern.

• NICK JACKSON, LB, Virginia, Sr.
Team high 14 tackles, 1 for a loss in 34-17 win over Richmond

• J.J. WEAVER, LB, Kentucky, Jr.
Game high 9 tackles in win 26-16 win at Florida.

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT® Trophy:
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa
2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky
2019 – Derek Brown, Auburn
2020 – Paddy Fisher, Northwestern
2021 – Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan

Related Articles