Home IMPACT News Player of the Week – UCF’s Demari Henderson

Player of the Week – UCF’s Demari Henderson

Henderson had two interceptions with a pass broken up, in addition to four tackles (two solo)

by lit-admin

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. –  UCF defensive back Demari Henderson is the Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week for week 11 of the 2023 college football season. Henderson had two interceptions with a pass broken up, in addition to four tackles (two solo) in the Knights 45-3 win over #17 Oklahoma State on Saturday

Henderson is a sophomore from Sanford, Florida. He’s played just seven games on the season, but in addition to his pair of interceptions in week 11, he has forced three fumbles and recovered two this year. A dynamic athlete, Henderson played offense, defense and returned kicks in high school, along with playing basketball. UCF is 5-5 this season, their first in the Big 12. 

The Lott IMPACT® Trophy player of the week is determined in part by a panel of Lott Trophy board members, former players and coaches, as well as members of the media. That panel represents sixty percent of votes, while an online fan vote is used to determine the other forty percent. 

The Lott IMPACT® Trophy is awarded annually to individuals who demonstrate excellence in the field of athletics and recognizes college football’s Defensive Player of the Year who best exemplifies the IMPACT acronym: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The mission of The Pacific Club IMPACT® Foundation is to recognize and support both national and local charities that serve the youth of America with a focus on education and have a positive IMPACT® on the lives of young men and women.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week in Week 11:

DAYLAN CARNELL, DB, Missouri, So. – Game sealing interception for a touchdown with a pass broken up and three tackles (all solo) in 36-7 win over #14 Tennessee. 

MAKARI PAIGE, DB, Michigan, Sr.- Recovered a fumble to go with a team high six tackles (3 solo) in the Wolverines 24-15 win at #12 Penn State.    

HAROLD PERKINS JR, LB, LSU, So.- Forced a fumble to go with eight tackles (six solo), including a sack, and a QB hurry in Tigers 52-35 win over Florida.  

DEVIN NEAL, DB, Louisville, Jr. – Game high 11 tackles (8 solo) with an interception and a pass broken up in Cardinals 31-24 win over Virginia. 

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT® Trophy
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa
2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky
2019 – Derek Brown, Auburn
2020 – Paddy Fisher, Northwestern
2021 – Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan
2022 – Will Anderson Jr., Alabama

The 20th Annual Lott IMPACT® Trophy Award Presentation will be held December 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California. To purchase tickets for the event, click here or for more information on The Lott Trophy visit: www.LottImpactTrophy.org

Related Articles