Home lott trophy Auburn’s Derrick Brown Named Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of The Week

Auburn’s Derrick Brown Named Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of The Week

by lit-admin

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Derrick Brown of Auburn has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

Brown, a 6-5, 318-pound senior defensive tackle from Sugar Hills, Georgia, was a dominant figure in Auburn’s 48-45 win over Alabama Saturday.  Brown was responsible for 3.5 tackles for losses, seven total tackles and one pass knocked down late in the game.

He has been the SEC Lineman of the Week three times this season and is a finalist for both the Outland and Bednarik awards (announced Dec. 12) as well as the Wuerffel (Dec. 10).

The winner of the 16th Annual Lott IMPACT Trophy will be announced Dec. 15.

A team captain, Brown has a team best 12.5 tackles for losses this year, four sacks, four passes broken up, two quarterback hurries, two forced fumbles and two recovered fumbles.

He will graduate from Auburn later this month.

Auburn will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Brown’s performance.

In 15 years, The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated more than $1.5 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy Week Fourteen:

A.J. Epenesa, Iowa, DE, Jr.: Had 4.5 tackles for losses, 2 sacks and a team best 14 tackles in win over Nebraska, 27-24.

Brandon Jones, Texas, DB, Sr.: Led team with 12 tackles in win over Texas Tech, 49-24.

Chris Orr, Wisconsin, LB, Sr.: Had seven tackles, 1.5 for losses, half a sack in win over Minnesota, 38-17.

Isaiah Simmons, Clemson, LB, Jr.: Led team with 10 tackles and had a sack along with two tackles for losses in win over South Carolina, 38-3.

2019 Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week:
Week One – Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma
Week Two – Evan Weaver, Cal
Week Three – Isaiah Simmons, Clemson
Week Four – Evan Weaver, Cal | Joe Bachie, Michigan State
Week Five – David Woodward, Utah State
Week Six – Jordan Fuller, Ohio State
Week Seven – Chris Orr, Wisconsin
Week Eight – Evan Weaver, Cal
Week Nine – Shaquille Quarterman, Miami
Week Ten – Cole Christiansen, Army
Week Eleven – Rashard Lawrence, LSU
Week Twelve – Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma
Week Thirteen – Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma
Week Fourteen – Derrick Brown, Auburn

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa
2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky

Related Articles