Home lott trophy Oklahoma’s Murray Named Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of The Week

Oklahoma’s Murray Named Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of The Week

by lit-admin

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Kenneth Murray of Oklahoma has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

The 6-2, 238-pound linebacker from Missouri City, Texas, won the award for the second time this year with his performance Saturday against Baylor.  In a 34-31 comeback win, Murray led the Sooners with eight tackles (seven solo) and had two tackles for losses.

For the season, Murray has a team best 70 tackles to go along with 9.5 tackles for losses, three passes broken up and three quarterback hurries.

Oklahoma will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Murray’s performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.5 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy Week Twelve:

Derrick Brown, Auburn, DL, Sr.: Had 6 tackles, a tackle for loss, and a pass defended in loss to Georgia, 21-14.

Cole Christiansen, Army, LB, Sr.: Led Cadets with 10 tackles (3 solo) and had a quarterback hurry in win over VMI, 47-6.

Troy Dye, Oregon, LB, Sr.: Had team high 8 tackles with one sack, and a forced fumble in win over Arizona, 34-6.

A.J. Epenesa, Iowa, DL, Sr.: Had 4 tackles, 2.5 sacks, a forced fumble, and a quarterback hurry in win over Minnesota, 23-19.

Brandon Jones, Texas, DB, Sr.: Had 9 tackles (6 solo) and one pass defended in loss against Iowa State, 23-21.

Chris Orr, Wisconsin, LB, Sr.: Had 5 tackles, one sack, one pass defended and 2 quarterback hurries in win over Nebraska, 37-21.

Isaiah Simmons, Clemson, LB, Sr.: Had 5 tackles (2 solo) and half a tackle for loss in win over Wake Forest, 52-3.

2019 Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week:

Week One – Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma

Week Two – Evan Weaver, Cal

Week Three – Isaiah Simmons, Clemson

Week Four – Evan Weaver, Cal | Joe Bachie, Michigan State

Week Five – David Woodward, Utah State

Week Six – Jordan Fuller, Ohio State

Week Seven – Chris Orr, Wisconsin

Week Eight – Evan Weaver, Cal

Week Nine – Shaquille Quarterman, Miami

Week Ten – Cole Christiansen, Army

Week Eleven – Rashard Lawrence, LSU

Week Twelve – Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa
2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky

Related Articles