Home lott trophy Miami’s Quarterman Named Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of The Week

Miami’s Quarterman Named Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of The Week

by lit-admin

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Miami Linebacker Shaquille Quarterman has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

Quarterman, 6-1, 241 from Orange Park, Florida, had a team high 12 tackles, seven solo tackles, two passes defended and a quarterback hurry in Miami’s 16-12 win over Pitt.

He was an All-ACC pick last season and has 63 tackles this year to lead the Hurricanes.  A four-year starter, Quarterman also has seven tackles for loss, two fumble recoveries, seven quarterback hurries and four passes broken up.

Miami, 4-4, is at Florida State this Saturday.

Miami will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Quarterman’s performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.5 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy POW:

Paulson Adebo, Stanford, CB, Sr.: Had two interceptions in win over Arizona, 41-31.

Derrick Brown, Auburn, DT, Sr.: Had 7 tackles, 2 tackles for loss and one sack in loss to LSU, 23-20.

Jeff Gladney, TCU, CB, Sr.: Had 8 tackles (6 solo) and 3 passes defended in win over Texas, 37-27.

Brandon Jones, S, Texas, Sr.: Had an interception and 11 tackles in loss to TCU, 37-27.

Isaiah Simmons, Clemson, LB, Sr.: Had 5 tackles, 2 quarterback hurries, one pass defended and 1.5 tackles for losses in win over Boston College, 59-7.

2019 Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week:
Week One – Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma
Week Two – Evan Weaver, Cal
Week Three – Isaiah Simmons, Clemson
Week Four – Evan Weaver, Cal | Joe Bachie, Michigan State
Week Five – David Woodward, Utah State
Week Six – Jordan Fuller, Ohio State
Week Seven – Chris Orr, Wisconsin
Week Eight – Evan Weaver, Cal
Week Nine – Shaquille Quarterman, Miami

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa
2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky

Related Articles