Home IMPACT News 2020 NFL Draft Results

2020 NFL Draft Results

by lit-admin

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – For the 13th time in 16 years, the Lott IMPACT Trophy had at least one player from its four finalists chosen in the annual NFL draft.

Each year, the Lott Trophy honors the four finalists and names the winner at a black-tie gala in Newport Beach.

This year saw Lott winner Derrick Brown (Auburn) chosen at No. 7 by the Carolina Panthers and finalist Isaiah Simmons (Clemson) chosen at No. 8 by the Arizona Cardinals.

It was the 9th time two Lott finalists were picked in the first round and also the 9th time a Lott finalist was a top 10 pick.

Finalist Jordan Fuller of Ohio State was chosen by the Rams in the sixth round, the 199th overall selection (which is the same spot Tom Brady was picked).

Evan Weaver of Cal, the other finalist, was also a sixth-round pick, by the Arizona Cardinals.

Here is a list of players who were Lott finalists and were first round selections. *Winner
2005 – Derrick Johnson (No. 15), David Pollack* (No. 17)
2006 – A.J. Hawk (No. 5). Winner DeMeco Ryans was a second- round pick.
2007 – None. Winner Dante Hughes was a third-round pick.
2008 – Chris Long (No. 2), Glenn Dorsey* (No. 5)
2009 – Aaron Curry (No. 5), Brian Orakpo (No. 13). Winner James Laurinaitis was a second-round pick.
2010 – Ndamukong Suh (No. 2), Eric Berry (No. 5), Rolando McClain (No. 8), Jerry Hughes* (No. 31)
2011 – Patrick Peterson (No. 5), JJ Watt* (No. 11)
2012 – Luke Kuechly (No. 9), Dont’a Hightower (No. 25)
2013 – Jarvis Jones (No. 17), Winner Manti Te’o was a second-round pick.
2014 – Anthony Barr* (No. 9)
2015 – None. Winner Howie Kendricks was a second-round pick.
2016 – None. Winner Carl Nassib was a third-round pick.
2017 – Jonathan Allen (No. 17), Adoree’ Jackson (No. 18), Jabrill Peppers* (No. 28)
2018 – Minkah Fitzpatrick (No. 11). Winner Josey Jewell was a fourth-round pick
2019 – Josh Allen* (No. 7), Christian Wilkins (No. 13)
2020 – Derrick Brown* (No. 7), Isaiah Simmons (No. 8)

Related Articles