Home IMPACT News Player of the Week – Louisville’s Devin Neal

Player of the Week – Louisville’s Devin Neal

He had two interceptions, broke up pass and made eight tackles in the Cardinals 33-20 win over then #10 Notre Dame

by lit-admin

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Louisville defensive back Devin Neal is the Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week for week 6 of the 2023 college football season, after he had two interceptions, broke up pass and made eight tackles in the Cardinals 33-20 win over then #10 Notre Dame.

A junior from Lexington, KY, Neal began his collegiate career at Baylor, where he played three seasons. On the year, Neal now had three interceptions, a fumble recovery and four passes broken up.

The Lott IMPACT® Trophy player of the week is determined in part by a panel of Lott Trophy board members, former players and coaches, as well as members of the media. That panel represents sixty percent of votes, while an online fan vote is used to determine the other forty percent.

The Lott IMPACT® Trophy is awarded annually to individuals who demonstrate excellence in the field of athletics and recognizes college football’s Defensive Player of the Year who best exemplifies the IMPACT acronym: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The mission of The Pacific Club IMPACT® Foundation is to recognize and support both national and local charities that serve the youth of America with a focus on education and have a positive IMPACT on the lives of young men and women.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week in Week 6:

CALEN BULLOCK, S, USC, Jr. – Broke up a pass on a two-point conversion attempt in double overtime, to go with six tackles, as the Trojans topped Arizona 43-41.

LOGAN LEE, DL, Iowa, Sr. – Made two sacks, among 10 tackles, 2.5 for a loss, in Hawkeyes 20-14 win over Purdue. 

DANNY STUTSMAN, LB, Oklahoma, Jr. – Key part of 4th quarter goal line stand at the 1 yard line, along with nine tackles, 1.5 for a loss, in Sooners 34-30 win over then-#3 Texas.

JARED VERSE, DL, Florida State, Jr. – Had two sacks, among three tackles in the Seminoles 39-17 win over Virginia Tech.

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT® Trophy
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa
2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky
2019 – Derek Brown, Auburn
2020 – Paddy Fisher, Northwestern
2021 – Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan
2022 – Will Anderson Jr., Alabama

The 20th Annual Lott IMPACT® Trophy Award Presentation will be held December 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California. To purchase tickets for the event, click here or for more information on The Lott Trophy visit: www.LottImpactTrophy.org

Related Articles