Lott IMPACT Trophy


Newport Beach, CA (Dec. 9) – Kentucky senior linebacker Josh Allen has been named the winner of the 15th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy. 

The announcement came Sunday night at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Ca. at the Lott IMPACT Trophy Annual Award Banquet. Ronnie Lott made the presentation.

The award goes to the defensive player who has the biggest IMPACT on his team. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Allen led a Kentucky defense that helped propel the Wildcats to a 9-3 season and a No. 14 national ranking.  Earlier this week he had been named the winner of the both the Nagurski Trophy and the Bednarik Trophy as the best defensive player in the country.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation will present a $25,000 check to the general scholarship fund at Kentucky in recognition of Allen’s achievement. Runner-ups were Ben Bur-Kirven of Washington, Ben Humphreys of Duke and Christian Wilkins of Clemson. Each of those schools will receive a check for $5,000 for its general scholarship fund.

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa
2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky