Lott IMPACT Trophy


NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Kansas linebacker Joe Dineen Jr. has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

The 6-2, 230-pound senior from Lawrence had 14 tackles (eight solo), an interception and a quarterback hurry in a 31-7 win over Central Michigan. It was Kansas’ first road victory in 46 games.

Dineen Jr is an honor student, having been named to the Big 12 honor roll numerous times. He graduated from Kansas in May with a degree in management and leadership. He is a candidate for the AFCA Good Works team and the Wuerffel Trophy as well as the Lott IMPACT Trophy.

He was named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week for his performance against Central Michigan.

Kansas will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of his performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.4 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy in Week Two:
Josh Allen, LB, Kentucky: Had 5 tackles, a sack, a forced fumble and a quarterback hurry as Wildcats snapped 31-game losing streak to Florida in a 27-16 win.

Deandre Baker, CB, Georgia: Had an interception return for 56 yards to set up an early touchdown, broke up two passes and had six total tackles in win over South Carolina, 41-17.

Nick Bosa, DL, Ohio State: Recorded three tackles for losses, one sack and five tackles along with a quarterback hurry in win over Rutgers, 52-3.

Te’von Coney, LB, Notre Dame: Had a team high 14 tackles, three for losses with a sack and a quarterback hurry in win over Ball State, 24-16.

Chase Hansen, LB, Utah: Had 12 tackles, two sacks, a fumble recovery and an interception in win over Northern Illinois, 17-6.

Ben Humphreys, LB, Duke: Had a team high 15 tackles in win over Northwestern, 21-7.

Taylor Rapp, S, Washington: Recovered a fumble and had two sacks in win over North Dakota, 45-3.

Sean Williams, S, Navy: Forced two fumbles and had team high nine tackles in win over Memphis, 22-21.

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa