Lott IMPACT Trophy

Cal Standout Evan Weaver Named Lott Impact Trophy Player Of The Week 02

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Evan Weaver, Cal’s outstanding and reliable linebacker, has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

The 6-3, 235-pound senior from Spokane, Washington had another big game for the Bears, recording a career-tying 18 tackles (14 solo) with two tackles for losses and a forced fumble in Cal’s win over No. 14 ranked Washington, 20-19.

Last season, Weaver recorded 159 tackles, sixth most in the nation.  He has 272 career tackles and is in the Top Ten all-time for Cal.  Weaver has started 21 games and played in 39 of 40 games since joining the program.

He is a 2019 nominee for the Butkus Award, the Bednarik Award and the Nagurski Award in addition to the Lott IMPACT Trophy Award.

Weaver was named a team captain this summer and said: “To be put on that pedestal and trusted by so many guys is truly an honor.”

Cal will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of his performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.5 million to universities and charities throughout the country in 15 years.


Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy in Week Two:

Joe Bachie, LB, Sr., Michigan State: Had 7 tackles, one for a loss and one pass defended quarterback hurry in win over Western Michigan, 51-17.

Troy Dye, LB, Sr., Oregon: Had two quarterback hurries and two tackles for losses with four total tackles in win over Nevada, 77-6.

A.J. Epenesa, DL, Sr., Iowa: Had four quarterback hurries, a sack and three tackles in shutout win over Rutgers, 30-0.

Cale Garrett, LB, Sr., Missouri: Led team with 7 tackles, two for losses and one sack in win over West Virginia, 38-7.

Khaleke Hudson, LB/S, Sr., Michigan: Led Wolverines with 12 tackles in double overtime win over Army, 24-21.

Curtis Weaver, DE, Sr., Boise State: Had six tackles, 1.5 for losses and a sack in win over Marshall, 14-7. 


2019 Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week:

Week One – Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma

Week Two – Evan Weaver, Cal


Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia

2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal

2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU

2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU

2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin

2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College

2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA

2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA

2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State

2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa

2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky