Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Washington State DL Hercules Mata’afa Named Lott IMPACT Player of the Week

NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. – Washington State’s Hercules Mata’afa has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

The 6-2, 252-pound redshirt junior from Lahaina, Hawaii, was a dominant performer in the Cougars’ 33-25 win over Utah. The defensive lineman recorded 5 tackles for losses and 3 sacks. He also forced a fumble and recovered a fumble to go along with his 8 solo tackles.

A mid-season All-American, Mata’afa leads the Pac-12 with 21.5 tackles for losses (3rd in the nation) and 9.5 sacks (8th in the nation). He has 46 career tackles for losses and 21.5 sacks.

Washington State will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Mata’afa’s performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.4 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Lott IMPACT Trophy candidates will be featured on “Inside College Football” on CBS Sports Network, which airs Tuesdays at 9 p.m. (Eastern). The show is hosted by Adam Zucker with analysts Randy Cross, Brian Jones, Rick Neuheisel and Aaron Taylor.

CBS Sports Network will air the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy banquet live on Dec. 10 from the Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy in Week Eleven:

Jason Cabinda, LB, Penn State: Led team with 11 tackles, one tackle for loss and broke up one pass in 35-6 win over Rutgers.
Minkah Fitzpatrick, DB, Alabama: Had 6 tackles, one quarterback hurry and one pass defended in win over Mississippi State, 31-24.
Malik Jefferson, LB, Texas: Had 7 tackles, 1.5 tackles for losses in win over Kansas, 42-20.
Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, LB, Oklahoma: Had 2 tackles for losses and 5 tackles in win over TCU, 38-20.
Christian Wilkins, DT, Clemson: Had 7 tackles, 2.5 tackles for losses and one sack in win over Florida State, 31-14.

Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week, 2017:

Week One – Josey Jewell, Iowa
Week Two – Marcus Allen, Penn State
Week Three – Micah Kiser, Virginia
Week Four – Cameron Smith, USC
Week Five – Jason Cabinda, Penn State
Week Six – Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
Week Seven Cameron Smith, USC
Week Eight – Jason Cabinda, Penn State
Week Nine – Harrison Phillips, Stanford
Week Ten – Micah Kiser, Virginia
Week Eleven – Hercules Mata’afa, Washington State

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011- Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

About the Lott IMPACT Trophy

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches.

To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.4 million to various charities throughout the country. The 14th annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held Dec. 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *