Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best





NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. – Virginia Linebacker Micah Kiser has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

Kiser, a 6-2, 240-pound senior from Baltimore led the Cavaliers (2-1) to a 38-13 win over Connecticut with a team high 15 tackles that included two sacks and a fumble recovery (at the Virginia goal line).

Virginia will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Kiser’s performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.4 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Kiser led the ACC in tackles a year ago with 11.2 per game. He was a Football Writer’s Assn. second-team All-American and a semi-finalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy in 2016. Kiser was a CoSIDA Academic All-District selection.

He was also named the Walter Camp National Defensive Player of the Week for his performance against Connecticut.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy in Week Three:

Marcus Allen, S, Penn State: Had a 50-yard interception return and 3 tackles in win over Georgia State, 56-0.

Duke Ejiofor, DE, Wake Forest: Had 2 tackles for losses, one sack, a quarterback hurry and a pass broken up in win over Utah State, 46-10.

Derek McCartney, LB, Colorado: Recorded 2 tackles for losses, one sack a quarterback hurry and 4 total tackles in win over Northern Colorado, 41-21.

Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, LB, Oklahoma: Had a forced fumble, 2 tackles for loss, a sack and team high 9 tackles in win over Tulane, 56-14.

Harrison Phillips, DL, Stanford: Led team with 10 tackles and had one sack in loss to San Diego State, 20-17.

Ed Oliver, DL, Houston: Had 6 tackles, one for a loss and forced a fumble in win over Rice, 38-3. up one pass in win over Tulane, 23-21.

Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week, 2017

Week One – Josey Jewell, Iowa

Week Two – Marcus Allen, Penn State

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia

2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal

2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU

2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU

2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin

2011- Luke Kuechly, Boston College

2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA

2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA

2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State

2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches. To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.4 million to various charities throughout the country. The 14th annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held Dec. 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *