Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Virginia LB Micah Kiser Named Lott IMPACT Player of the Week For Second Time This Season

NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. – Virginia Linebacker Micah Kiser has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week for the second time this season.

Kiser is a 6-2, 240-pound senior from Baltimore. In the Cavaliers’ 40-36 win over Georgia Tech, Kiser had a career high 18 tackles. The win made Virginia bowl eligible for the first time since 2011.

Kiser is also a finalist for the prestigious Campbell Trophy, considered the Academic Heisman Trophy. He has won numerous academic honors during his collegiate career including Academic All-ACC, All-District and All-American.

Virginia will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Kiser’s performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.4 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Lott IMPACT Trophy candidates will be featured on “Inside College Football” on CBS Sports Network, which airs Tuesdays at 9 p.m. (Eastern). The show is hosted by Adam Zucker with analysts Randy Cross, Brian Jones, Rick Neuheisel and Aaron Taylor.

CBS Sports Network will air the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy banquet live on Dec. 10 from the Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy in Week Ten:

Quin Blanding, S, Virginia: Had an interception, the 9th of his career, in win over Georgia Tech, 40-36.

Ben Burr-Kirven, LB, Washington: Led Huskies with 10 tackles, forced a fumble and broke up one pass in win over Oregon, 38-3.

Josey Jewell, LB, Iowa: Led Hawkeyes with 9 tackles and broke up one pass in upset win over Ohio State, 55-24.

Derek McCartney, Colorado: Recorded team high 14 tackles and broke up one pass in loss to Arizona State, 41-30.

Harrison Phillips, DL, Stanford: Led team with 7 tackles, 2.5  tackles for loss and a sack in loss to Washington State, 24-21.

Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week, 2017:

Week One – Josey Jewell, Iowa
Week Two – Marcus Allen, Penn State
Week Three – Micah Kiser, Virginia
Week Four – Cameron Smith, USC
Week Five – Jason Cabinda, Penn State
Week Six – Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
Week Seven Cameron Smith, USC
Week Eight – Jason Cabinda, Penn State
Week Nine – Harrison Phillips, Stanford
Week Ten – Micah Kiser, Virginia

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011- Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

About the Lott IMPACT Trophy

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches.

To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.4 million to various charities throughout the country. The 14th annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held Dec. 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *