Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Former Secret Service Man Who Took Bullet for President Reagan To Be Honored by The Lott IMPACT Trophy

Tim McCarthy, who took a bullet for President Ronald Reagan during a failed assassination attempt, will receive an honorary Lott IMPACT Trophy Dec. 14 at The Pacific Club here in Newport Beach.

A member of the United States Secret Service, McCarthy stepped in front of a shot by John Hinckley, Jr. – a shot that was aimed directly at the President. The bullet lodged in McCarthy’s abdomen, he was taken to George Washington Hospital where the bullet was removed and he recovered in time to be back on the job in two weeks.

McCarthy is one of only four Secret Service men to take a bullet for a United States President.

In a 2004 interview, McCarthy said: “In the Secret Service, we’re trained to cover and evacuate the president. And to cover the president, you have to get as large as you can, rather than hitting the deck. So I have to say people have asked me, and I said quite frankly, it probably had little to do with bravery and an awful lot to do with the reaction based upon the training.”

Now 65, he is the Chief of Police in Orland Park, Illinois. He was a football player at the University of Illinois before joining the Secret Service. In 1982, he received the NCAA Award of Valor in recognition of his bravery.

Previous winners of Honorary Lott IMPACT trophies:
Pat Tillman (former Arizona State star killed in Afghanistan)
Mark Herzlich (Boston College player returned from cancer)
Owen Marecic (Stanford two-way player)
Tyrone Fahie (Nebraska player was Navy veteran)
Sgt. Dakota Meyer (Medal of Honor recipient)
Brian Banks (falsely accused of crime, lost his football career)