Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Stanford DL Harrison Phillips Named Lott IMPACT Player of the Week

NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. – Stanford Defensive Lineman Harrison Phillips has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

Phillips, a 6-4, 295-pound senior from Millard West High in Omaha, led the Cardinals with nine tackles, two for losses, forced two fumbles and recovered one in a 15-14 win over Oregon State.

He leads the team in tackles this season with 59 and tackles for losses with seven.

Phillips is an academic star as well, having been named to the Pac-12 Academic All-District team last season. He has also been selected to the AFCA Good Works team.

Stanford will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Phillips’ performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.4 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Lott IMPACT Trophy candidates will be featured on “Inside College Football” on CBS Sports Network, which airs Tuesdays at 9 p.m. (Eastern). The show is hosted by Adam Zucker with analysts Randy Cross, Brian Jones, Rick Neuheisel and Aaron Taylor.

CBS Sports Network will air the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy banquet live on Dec. 10 from the Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy in Week Nine:

Quin Blanding, S, Virginia: Had an interception, team high 9 tackles and a tackle for loss in loss to Pitt, 31-14.

Tremaine Edmunds, LB, Virginia Tech: Had team high 10 tackles, one for a loss, a quarterback hurry and a pass defended in 24-3 win over Duke.

Malik Jefferson, LB, Texas: Had 8 tackles (tied for team high) with 2.5 tackles for losses and 1.5 sacks in win over Baylor, 38-7.

Josey Jewell, LB, Iowa: Returned from injury to record team high 11 tackles in win over Minnesota, 17-10.

Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, LB, Oklahoma: Led Sooners with 10 tackles and had a sack in win over Texas Tech, 49-27.

Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week, 2017:

Week One – Josey Jewell, Iowa
Week Two – Marcus Allen, Penn State
Week Three – Micah Kiser, Virginia
Week Four – Cameron Smith, USC
Week Five – Jason Cabinda, Penn State
Week Six – Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
Week Seven Cameron Smith, USC
Week Eight – Jason Cabinda, Penn State
Week Nine – Harrison Phillips, Stanford

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011- Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

About the Lott IMPACT Trophy

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches.

To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.4 million to various charities throughout the country. The 14th annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held Dec. 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *