Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Ronnie Lott Named Member of CFP Selection Committee

Former USC star Ronnie Lott, who played on four Super Bowl-winning teams, headlines a list of six people who have been appointed to the 13-member College Football Playoff selection committee, it was announced Wednesday.

Lott joins former Arizona Republic sports columnist Paola Boivin, Oklahoma athletic director Joe Castiglione, former coach Ken Hatfield, Georgia Tech athletic director Todd Stansbury and Florida athletic director Scott Stricklin.

Boivin is the second woman to be named to the committee, following the tenure of former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice.

The new members will each begin a three-year term this spring, and current committee member Rob Mullens, the athletic director at Oregon, will be the new selection committee chairman.

“These are high integrity people who know and love college football,” CFP executive director Bill Hancock said in a statement. “Each one of them has built a distinguished career based on diligence and doing things the right way. We’re delighted that they will be joining the committee.”

Lott, a 2002 College Football Hall of Fame inductee, helped the Trojans win the national title in 1978, followed by appearances in back-to-back Rose Bowl games. He graduated from USC in 1981, the same year he was chosen in the first round of the NFL draft.

Lott played professional football for 14 seasons before retiring in 1995. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2000. An eight-time first-team All-Pro selection and 10-time Pro Bowl defensive back, Lott is now a businessman in the San Francisco Bay Area.

via ESPN

To read more, click here: Ronnie Lott highlights six new members on CFP selection committee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *