Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best




Marcus Allen Lott IMPACT Player of the Week

NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. – Penn State Safety Marcus Allen has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

Allen, a 6-2, 207-pound senior from Upper Marlboro, Maryland led the Nittany Lions with 12 tackles, one for a safety, in a 33-14 win over Pitt.

Penn State will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Allen’s performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.4 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Allen, a team captain, had 110 tackles last season to lead the team.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week in Week Two:

Micah Kiser, LB, Virginia: Had a game high 14 tackles with 2 sacks in loss to Indiana, 34-17.

Hercules Mata’afa, DL, Washington State: Recorded 3 tackles for loss, and 6 total tackles in triple overtime win over Boise State, 47-44.

Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, LB, Oklahoma: Had 1.5 sacks, 2.5 tackles for loss and 5 tackles in win over Ohio State, 31-16.

Ed Oliver, DL, Houston: Forced a fumble and had 11 tackles, including 1.5 for losses in win over Arizona, 19-16.

D.J. Palmore, LB, Navy: Had 10 tackles, 2.5 for losses and broke up one pass in win over Tulane, 23-21.

Tegray Scales, LB, Indiana: Had 8 tackles, 1.5 tackles for loss and ½ sack in win over Virginia, 34-17.

Christian Wilkins, DT, Clemson: Had 2 sacks (2.5 tackles for losses) and 10 total tackles in win over Auburn, 14-6.

Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week, 2017

Week One – Josey Jewell, Iowa

Week Two – Marcus Allen, Penn State

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia

2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal

2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU

2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU

2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin

2011-  Luke Kuechly, Boston College

2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA

2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA

2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State

2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches. To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.4 million to various charities throughout the country. The 14th annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held Dec. 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *