Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Penn State Linebacker Jason Cabinda Named Lott IMPACT Player of the Week


NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. – Penn State Linebacker Jason Cabinda has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

Cabinda, a 6-1, 232-pound senior from Flemington, New Jersey, led the Nittany Lions with 14 tackles, including 1.5 for losses and a sack along with a fumble recovery in a 45-14 win over Indiana.

Penn State will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Cabinda’s performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.4 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Cabinda is a team captain who leads the team in tackles with 35.

Lott IMPACT Trophy candidates will be featured on “Inside College Football” on CBS Sports Network, which airs Tuesdays at 9 p.m. (Eastern).  The show is hosted by Adam Zucker with analysts Randy Cross, Brian Jones, Rick Neuheisel and Aaron Taylor.

CBS Sports Network will air the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy banquet live on Dec. 10 from the Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy in Week Five:

Minkah Fitzpatrick, DB, Alabama: Led team with 8 tackles, had two tackles for loss and a sack in win over Ole Miss, 66-3.

Sam Hubbard, DE, Ohio State: Had 4 tackles, one for a loss, a quarterback hurry and a sack in win over Rutgers, 56-0.

Josey Jewell, LB, Iowa: Had a game high 16 tackles, 3 for losses and forced a fumble in loss to Michigan State, 17-10.

Harrison Phillips, DL, Stanford: Credited with 4 quarterback hurries and 6 tackles in win over Arizona State, 34-24.

Kenny Young, LB, UCLA: Led Bruins with 12 tackles, one for a loss and one at line of scrimmage in 27-23 win over Colorado.

Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week, 2017:
Week One – Josey Jewell, Iowa
Week Two – Marcus Allen, Penn State
Week Three – Micah Kiser, Virginia
Week Four – Cameron Smith, USC
Week Five – Jason Cabinda, Penn State

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011-  Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

About the Lott IMPACT Trophy
Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches. To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.4 million to various charities throughout the country. The 14th annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held Dec. 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *