Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Lott IMPACT Trophy Names Watch List Candidates

2016 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List

NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. – Forty-two of the top defensive players in the country have been nominated for the 2016 Lott IMPACT Trophy, it was announced today at a luncheon in Newport Beach, California.

This is the 13th year the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has presented the Lott IMPACT Trophy that goes to the student-athlete who exhibits the characteristics displayed by Ronnie Lott during his legendary college and professional careers. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The 42 nominated players represent 33 different universities throughout the country, including for the first time, a school from the Ivy League (Harvard). Alabama has three on the Watch List while Stanford, Tennessee, Virginia, TCU, USC and Michigan have two each.

The winner, announced in December at a gala black-tie dinner, will receive $25,000 for his school’s general scholarship fund while each of three runner-ups will receive $5,000 each for their schools.

Additionally, one athlete is chosen as Player of the Week each week during the season, earning $1,000 for his school.

A National Voter Panel of more than 300 former college coaches, players and members of the media, vote on the award.

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011- Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *