Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



The 2014 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List

NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. – The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation announced the 42 nominees for the 2014 Lott IMPACT Trophy.

Now in its 11th year, the Lott IMPACT Trophy goes to the college football defensive player who has the biggest IMPACT on his team both on and off the field.  IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

There are 17 linebackers on this year’s list, 14 defensive backs and 11 defensive linemen.  The Pac-12 with a dozen nominees leads the way followed by the SEC with eight, the ACC and Big-12 with seven each, the Big Ten with six and the Mountain West one along with one player from independent Notre Dame.

There are seven players from last year’s Watch List on this year’s list: Derron Smith of Fresno State, Bryce Hager of Baylor, Eric Kendricks of UCLA, Danny Shelton of Washington, A.J. Johnson of Tennessee, Deterrian Shackleford of Ole Miss and Ifo Ekpre-Olomu of Oregon.

Said John Hamilton, Chairman of the Board of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, sponsors of the Lott IMPACT Trophy: “We continually strive to honor those young men who embrace the characteristics of Ronnie Lott and everything he stands for.  Once again, we have a group of student-athletes who we believe live up to those very high standards and we look forward to watching them grow their already impressive resumes this fall.”

The winner will be announced at the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Banquet Dec. 14 at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

Last year’s winner was Anthony Barr of UCLA.

The 2014 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List:

Geoffrey Bacon, DB, Army
Vic Beasley, DE, Clemson
Michael Bennett, DT, Ohio State
Xavier Cooper, DL, Washington State 
Shilique Calhoun, DE, Michigan State
Sam Carter, S, TCU
Henry Coley, LB, Virginia
Landon Collins, S, Alabama
Corey Cooper, S, Nebraska
Ronald Darby, CB, Florida State
Michael Doctor, LB, Oregon State
Alvin “Bud” Dupree, DE, Kentucky
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, CB, Oregon
Collin Ellis, LB, Northwestern
Cole Farrand, LB, Maryland
Randy Gregory, DE, Nebraska
Bryce Hager, LB, Baylor
Vernon Hargreaves, DB, Florida
David Helton, LB, Duke
Myles Jack, LB, UCLA
A.J. Johnson, LB, Tennessee
Karl Joseph, S, West Virginia
Eric Kendricks, LB, UCLA
Hau’oli Kikaha, DE, Washington
Anthony Harris, S, Virginia 
Cameron Lynch, LB, Syracuse
Wayne Lyons, CB, Stanford
Jake Ryan, LB, Michigan
Christian Covington, DL, Rice
Ryan Mueller, DE, Kansas State
Cory Morrissey, DE, Iowa State
Hayes Pullard, LB, USC
Cedric Reed, DE, Texas
Jordan Richards, S, Stanford
Deterrian Shackleford, LB, Ole Miss
Danny Shelton, DT, Washington
Derron Smith, S, Fresno State
Jaylon Smith, LB, Notre Dame
Eric Striker, LB, Oklahoma
Jared Tevis, S, Arizona
Leonard Williams, DT, USC
Ramik Wilson, LB, Georgia

Extra Points: 2013 Lott IMPACT Trophy winner Anthony Barr of UCLA was a first-round selection in the annual NFL Draft, being selected No. 9 overall by the Minnesota Vikings.  He’s the 6th Lott winner to be chosen in the first round:

– David Pollack, Georgia (2004, Cincinnati)
– Glenn Dorsey, LSU (2007, Kansas City)
– Jerry Hughes, TCU (2009, Indianapolis)
– J.J. Watt, Wisconsin (2010, Houston)
– Luke Kuechly, Boston College (2011, Carolina)

Three other winners were early second round picks: DeMeco Ryans, Alabama (1st pick of 2nd round); James Laurinaitis (3rd pick of 2nd round); Manti Te’o (6th pick of 2nd round).

The other finalists from last year:  Chris Borland (Wisconsin Linebacker) was chosen by San Francisco in the third round (77th overall).

Devon Kennard (USC Linebacker) was selected by the New York Giants in the fifth round.  Kennard was one of five team captains selected by the Giants who admitted they focused on character in this year’s draft.

James Morris (Iowa, Linebacker) was not chosen in any of the seven rounds, but signed a free-agent contract with the New England Patriots the day after the draft. Morris, who had 400 tackles in his career and maintained a 3.97 GPA in political science has already been awarded more than $30,000 in postgraduate scholarships and received the Big Ten Medal of Honor for his outstanding accomplishments on and off the field.