Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



J.J. Watt Wins 2010 Lott IMPACT Trophy

JJ Watt Lott Impact Trophy Winner 2010

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – J.J. Watt of Wisconsin was named the 2010 winner of the Lott IMPACT Trophy at the annual awards banquet here Sunday night.

The 6-6, 292-pound Watt, a defensive end on the 11-1 Rose-Bowl bound Badgers, was presented with the trophy by Ronnie Lott.  He is the first Wisconsin player to win the award.  During the 2010 season, Watt led the Badgers with 21 tackles for losses, 10 quarterback hurries and seven sacks.  He also forced three fumbles, recovered two, had an interception and blocked three kicks.

The other finalists for the award were Sam Acho of Texas, Casey Matthews of Oregon and Patrick Peterson of LSU.

The Lott Trophy is the only college football award where character counts. The student-athlete must be making an IMPACT on the field as well as off the field in such areas as academics, community and leadership. IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Wisconsin will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Watt’s achievement.  Each of the runnerups schools received $5,000.

In addition to his prodigious skills on the field, Watt is an honor student at Wisconsin, twice being named an Academic All-Big Ten performer, and has formed his own charity, the Justin J. Watt Foundation to benefit local elementary and middle schools that lack funding (His foundation is modeled after the one started by former Lott Trophy finalist Myron Rolle).

Three times this season, Watt was selected the Lott IMPACT Player of the Week.  Watt follows in the footsteps of former Wisconsin All-American Jim Leonhard, a 2004 Lott finalist, who, like Watt, was a walk-on.  Watt began his career at Central Michigan, worked at a Pizza Hut for six months while trying to earn a scholarship at Wisconsin and eventually won a starting spot on the defensive line.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the Lott is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its seventh year, the Lott is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation in Newport Beach, the award is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Past winners of The Lott IMPACT Trophy:

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, California
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin

In seven years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has now donated more than $850,000 to various charities, including $25,000 to each of the winners’ universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the IMPACT Foundation, the IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisors comprised of retired NFL players and the Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former college head coaches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *