Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Hughes Wins 2009 Lott IMPACT Trophy

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Jerry Hughes of TCU has been named the winner of the sixth annual Lott Trophy at a gala banquet Sunday night at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California.

Hughes is a senior Defensive End from Sugar Land, Texas and has been the Mountain West Defensive Player of the Year each of the past two seasons.  He led the undefeated Horned Frogs in sacks (11.5) and tackles for losses (15) this season.

Hughes was named the winner of the Hendricks Award earlier this week as the top defensive end in college football.

TCU will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund for Hughes’ accomplishment.

The other three finalists were Eric Berry of Tennessee, Rolando McClain of Alabama and Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska.

The award is sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.  Now in its sixth year, the Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation in Newport Beach, the award is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Hughes has been very involved in charity outreach programs in the Dallas-Fort Worth area and was honored with a Local Hero award earlier this season.  He will graduate on time from TCU in the spring after carrying 18 units this past semester.

TCU will play Boise State in the Fiesta Bowl Jan. 5 in Phoenix.

Past winners of The Lott IMPACT Trophy:

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, California
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *