Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Iowa’s Josey Jewell Wins 2017 Lott IMPACT Trophy

Newport Beach, CA- Iowa’s standout senior linebacker Josey Jewell has been named the winner of the 14th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy.

The announcement came Sunday night at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Ca. at the Lott IMPACT Trophy Annual Awards Banquet.  Ronnie Lott made the presentation.

The award goes to the defensive player who has the biggest IMPACT on his team.  IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Jewell is a 6-2, 236-pound senior from Decorah, Iowa. An All-American and All-Big Ten selection, he had 136 tackles on the season, 13.5 tackles for losses and 11 passes broken up. He is also an Academic All Big Ten selection with a 3.0 GPA, majoring in environmental studies.

Jewell was twice named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week this season.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation will present a $25,000 check to the general scholarship fund at Iowa in recognition of Jewell’s achievement.

Runner-ups were Micah Kiser of Virginia, Harrison Phillips of Stanford and Minkah Fitzpatrick of Alabama. Each of those schools will receive a check for $5,000 for its general scholarship fund.

The event was televised by CBS Sports Network with Mark Malone hosting.

Iowa will be playing Boston College in the New Era Pinstripes Bowl at Yankee Stadium on Dec. 28.

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011- Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *