Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Former Lott IMPACT Trophy Winners Watt and Kuechly named to 2014 NFL Pro Bowl


-Honoring College Football’s Best in Character and Performance-

NEWPORT BEACH, CA., Jan. 16, 2014— Former Lott IMPACT Trophy winners J.J. Watt (Wisconsin, 2010) and Luke Kuechly (Boston College, 2011) have been named to the 2014 NFL Pro Bowl which will take place January 26th in Honolulu, Hawaii.

It is the second appearance in the Pro Bowl for Watt, who was the 2012 NFL Defensive Player of the Year. Watt earned his place in the Pro Bowl for the second straight year having recorded 10.5 total sacks and 80 tackles during the 2013 season. Watt is known for his tenacity on the field and his numerous charitable deeds off the field. For Kuechly, it’s his Pro Bowl debut and the hard-hitting linebacker earned his spot with 156 tackles (fourth most in the NFL).

Both Watt and Kuechly consistently make an IMPACT off the field and use an impressive amount of their time away from the football field to help others that are in need.

The Justin J. Watt Foundation’s (jjwfoundation.org) mission is to provide after-school opportunities for children in the community to become involved in athletics, so that they may learn the basic character traits of accountability, teamwork, leadership, work ethic and perseverance while in a safe and supervised environment with their peers. Recently he created the J.J. Watt Charity Classic, an event that included a charity softball game that raised more than $300,000 to help fund after-school athletic programs for at-risk youth. Watt is also a proud supporter of Blue Cure, a Houston based non-profit that supports prostate cancer awareness. He’s also involved with the H-E-B Sacks for Hunger program which raised money for the Houston Food Bank. As if that weren’t enough, Watt was one of six NFL players to volunteer time during the off-season to visit deployed troops based in the Middle East as part of the Support Our Troops Entertainment tour and currently stars in the NFL’s Play 60 campaign.

Kuechly is also very active in the community. He was part of a program with Bank of America and the Nehemiah Community Reinvestment Fund that donated homes to injured veterans and first responders. He was also part of Second Harvest Food Bank’s “Backpack Program” that helped raise awareness for child hunger by supplying backpacks filled with food for local disadvantaged youth. Furthermore, he is a strong supporter of the Humane Society and helps raise awareness by visiting local shelters with his Carolina Panthers teammates.

Three previous Lott IMPACT Trophy finalists were also named to the Pro Bowl – Arizona Cardinals Cornerback Patrick Peterson (LSU), Kansas City Chiefs Safety Eric Berry (Tennessee) and Detroit Lions Defensive Tackle Ndamukong Suh (Nebraska).


2004 Lott IMPACT Trophy finalist Derrick Johnson (Texas) was a 2011 and 2012 ProBowl selection with the Kansas City Chiefs

2004 Lott IMPACT Trophy finalist Jim Leonhard (Wisconsin) had a career high four interceptions with the Buffalo Bills

2005 Lott IMPACT Trophy winner DeMeco Ryans (Alabama) was a 2007 and 2009 Pro Bowl selection

2008 Lott IMPACT Trophy winner James Laurinaitis (Ohio State) has started 80 consecutive games and recorded 100+ tackles in each of those seasons for the Rams

2008 Lott IMPACT Trophy finalist Brian Orakpo (Texas) was a 2009 and 2010 Pro Bowl selection with the Washington Redskins

2009 Lott IMPACT Trophy winner Jerry Hughes (TCU) had a career high 10 sacks for the Buffalo Bills

2012 Lott IMPACT Trophy winner Manti Te’o (Notre Dame) had 61 tackles in his rookie season with the San Diego Chargers

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football’s top defensive player who exemplifies the best in Character and Performance. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the Lott IMPACT Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches. 

UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr became the 10th Lott IMPACT Trophy winner in 2013, joining a stellar list of past winners including Manti Teo’, JJ Watt, Luke Kuechly and a host of NFL stars. Sponsors for the Lott IMPACT Trophy include Mercedes-Benz and United Airlines and to date, the Foundation has donated more than $1 million to various charities throughout the country. For more information about the Lott IMPACT Trophy visit: www.lottimpacttrophy.org. The annual Lott IMPACT Trophy luncheon to announce the 2014 Watch List will be held May 14th at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach, CA.

## #

Media Contact: Pete Donovan, PR Director, pdonovan@lottimpacttrophy.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *