Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best



Alabama Defensive Back Minkah Fitzpatrick Named Lott IMPACT Player of the Week


NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. – Alabama defensive back Minkah Fitzpatrick has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week.

Fitzpatrick is a 6-1, 202-pound junior from Old Bridge, New Jersey. He had three tackles for losses, a forced fumble, a pass break up, five total tackles and a fourth quarter interception in Alabama’s 27-19 win over Texas A&M Saturday. In the game, the versatile Fitzpatrick played cornerback, safety, nickel back and dime linebacker. He was also named the SEC Defensive Player of the Week.

Alabama will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Fitzpatrick’s performance.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation sponsors the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has donated more than $1.4 million to universities and charities throughout the country.

Lott IMPACT Trophy candidates will be featured on “Inside College Football” on CBS Sports Network, which airs Tuesdays at 9 p.m. (Eastern).  The show is hosted by Adam Zucker with analysts Randy Cross, Brian Jones, Rick Neuheisel and Aaron Taylor.
CBS Sports Network will air the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy banquet live on Dec. 10 from the Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT Trophy in Week Six:

Quin Blanding, S, Virginia: Returned an interception 58 yards for a touchdown (first of the game) and had 5 tackles in 28-21 win over Duke.
Malik Jefferson, DL, Texas: Had 10 total tackles, 2 tackles for losses and a sack in win over Kansas State, 40-34.
Christian LaCouture, DE, LSU: Had 9 tackles, 1.5 tackles for losses and a quarterback hurry in win over Florida, 17-16.
D.J. Palmore, LB, Navy: Recovered 2 fumbles, had 3 tackles for losses (with one sack) and 6 total tackles in win over Air Force, 48-45.
Drue Tranquill, S, Notre Dame: Forced a fumble and recovered fumble, led Irish with 7 tackles in win over North Carolina, 33-10.

Lott IMPACT Trophy Players of the Week, 2017:


Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011-  Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan


About the Lott IMPACT Trophy


Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches. To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.4 million to various charities throughout the country. The 14th annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held Dec. 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *