Lott IMPACT Trophy | Honoring College Football's Defensive Best




NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has announced the 42 candidates for the 15th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy.

The announcement was made at a luncheon in Newport Beach hosted by Ronnie Lott and the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation.

The 42 (Ronnie Lott’s number) nominees represent the finest in college football —  defensive players who have had the biggest IMPACT on their teams both on and off the field.  IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

There are 21 linebackers, 11 defensive backs and 10 defensive linemen on the initial Watch List.  Nine different conferences (and two independents) are represnted with the Pac-12 leading the way with 11 student-athletes nominated.  Half of the candidates, 21, have received some form of academic recognition during their college careers to date.

Candidates will be evaluated during the season with a Player of the Week chosen each week (and his school receiving $1,000 for its general scholarship fund).  The four finalists will attend the 15th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Banquet Dec. 9 in Newport Beach (with his school receiving $25,000 for its general scholarship fund).

Eight players are on the Watch List for the second consecutive seson: Koron Crump (Arizona State), Porter Gustin (USC), Chase Hansen (Utah), Ed Oliver (Houston), Ty Summers (TCU), Drue Tranquill (Notre Dame), Christian Wilkins (Clemson) and Cameron Smith (USC), who was a semi-finalist last year.

2018 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List

Josh Allen, LB, Kentucky

Zack Allen, DL, Boston College

Deandre Baker, DB, Georgia

Nick Bosa, DE, Ohio State

Ben Burr-Kirven, LB, Washngton

Te’von Coney, LB, Notre Dame

Koron Crump, DE/LB, Arizona State

DeShaun Davis, LB, Auburn

Joe Dineen Jr., LB, Kansas

Troy Dye, LB, Oregon

T.J. Edwards, LB, Wisconsin

Jordan Fuller, S, Ohio State

Denzel Goolsby, S, Kansas State

Porter Gustin, LB, USC

Nate Hall, LB, Northwestern

Chase Hansen, S, Utah

Khaleke Hudson, DB, Michigan

Ben Humphries, LB, Duke

Chauncy Gardner-Johnson, DB, Florida

Pat Jasinski, LB, Central Florida

Joe Jackson, DL, Miami

Anfernee Jennings, LB, Alabama

Caleb Kelly, LB, Oklahoma

Jordan Kunaszyk, LB, Cal

Dexter Lawrence, DE, Clemson

David Leisring, S, Dayton

Kekoa Nawahine, S, Boise State

Anthony Nelson, DL, Iowa

Bobby Okereke, LB, Stanford

Ed Oliver, DL, Houston

Adarius Pickett, DB, UCLA

Taylor Rapp, S, Washington

Colin Schooler, LB, Arizona

Jeffery Simmons, DL, Mississippi State

Cameron Smith, LB, USC

Sutton Smith, DE, Northern Illinois

Ty Summers, LB, TCU

Drue Tranquill, LB, Notre Dame

Devin White, LB, LSU

Christian Wilkins, DL, Clemson

Sean Williams, S, Navy

Dedrick Young, LB, Nebraska


Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia

2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal

2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU

2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU

2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin

2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College

2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA

2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA

2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State

2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa


Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches. To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.5 million to various charities throughout the country. The 15th annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held Dec. 9th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California. For more information on The Lott Trophy visit: www.LottImpactTrophy.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *